NZ Casino Reviews

Our Real Casino Experts' In-Depth Reviews

Our team is reviewing casinos online on a regular basis to provide you with our honest opinion about new and popular casinos in NZ! Discover what we look for in our reviews and view our full list of online casinos reviewed below!

All casinos

Name Total rating Popularity Usability Customer Service Launched
21nova 85 63 82 100 04/10/2020
666 Casino 83 84 81 75 09/10/2017
All Slots Casino 80 79 79 87 16/08/2017
Amazon Slots 78 83 81 75 01/03/2021
Betinia 85 81 87 100
BetVili 89 95 90 75 14/11/2020
Big5Casino 69 65 83 37
Bons.com 84 81 82 100 23/08/2020
Captain Spins 64 55 82 73 01/05/2019
Cashimashi 88 87 82 64
CasiGo 87 76 83 75 02/09/2020
Casino Dome 87 70 87 100 31/12/2020
Casino Friday 78 73 95 75 30/09/2020
Casino Universe 66 61 83 62 25/08/2020
Casino-X 73 78 81 62 03/12/2012
CasinoDays 73 66 90 75 21/07/2020
Casumo 81 92 96 75 02/09/2012
Cocoa Casino 88 97 84 62 01/01/2005
DaVinci's Gold 77 80 87 62 01/01/2005
Dazard 76 70 85 80
Dunder 70 75 85 75 08/03/2016

How Do We Review Casinos in New Zealand?

Our experience has taught us that a number of factors contribute to the making of the best online casinos. 

In our online casino reviews, we evaluate many aspects of an online casino, making sure that only the best gambling platforms make it to our list of best casinos in NZ. 

Below we have listed what we consider the most important features, that help us decide if a casino deserves a place amongst our list or not and what we analyze in our online casino reviews:

1. We make sure they have a license

There are hundreds of online casinos circling the web these days, prompting players to inquire which are the legit ones in an effort to avoid those dodgy ones.

Casinos bearing a license from regulators like the UK Gambling Commission and other EEA countries are amongst the safest, as these gambling jurisdictions impose strict standards while making sure that player protection is exercised at all times.

It is easy to check out the casino license as this is usually stated at the bottom of the homepage, together with the registered address of the company and the license number.

If you still feel unsure, you can go one step further and make an inquiry with the regulator to verify the authenticity of the license.

2. We find out what bonuses and promotions they offer

With so many online casinos to choose from, each individual platform must try its best to become highly competitive and this is usually achieved by offering a range of casino promotions.

Each casino offers a unique choice of bonuses which might consist of either bonus money or free spins

This can be quite advantageous for Kiwi players who can benefit from a whole range of promotions like welcome bonuses, free spins, cashback, reload bonuses and more. 

Best NZ casinos

Welcome bonus and wagering requirements

The most reliable casinos offer their players a welcome bonus whereby online casinos treat newly registered players to a generous offer. 

Some of the best free casinos might even offer a no deposit casino bonus simply for registering for an account, however, most welcome offers would require a small deposit. 

The best casino bonuses would consist of a 100% or even a 200% deposit match. 

Free spins

An all-time favourite amongst all Kiwi players, free spins are one of the most sought-after promotions. 

Online gambling platforms tend to be quite generous with free spins and often include them in welcome packages, reload bonuses, as a reward for unlocking a new VIP level, or else as part of an exciting tournament. 

Since we know how much players love these freebies, you can count on us to check which casinos offer them in our NZ casino online reviews!

Offers and promotions

The casino welcome bonus is not the only reward that the best casinos have in store for their most loyal customers. 

Once you become a regular, the casino will provide you with a number of regular promotions, to help you extend your gameplay significantly. These might consist of reload bonuses, and cashback offers. 

They could hold tournaments, where the prizes include free spins or money. One of the prizes might be to award a holiday or new technology set of spins to the winner of the tournament. 

Celebrating may even be initiated on special occasions, where players could win bonus money or freebies by chance.

VIP programs

The best online casinos in NZ will also come equipped with a great loyalty scheme or VIP program, as a means to reward returning customers. 

Loyalty schemes are usually made up of a point-based system, whereby, players are handed points either for every deposit affected or for every bet.

Accumulated points might be exchanged for bonus money or other promotions, and with some online casinos, they might even provide access to a VIP ranking system whereby players are classified by this new status to receive better offers and even tailor-made gifts and other services.

3. We try out their games and check their provider’s selection

Online Pokies

If online pokies are your favourite casino game, then it is important to locate an online casino that is focused mainly on pokies.

In our experience, the best online casinos offer a large variety of games that include classic pokies, video pokies, and the best progressive pokies, with different themes and volatility settings. 

We also expect to find the best payout pokies, because at the end of the day, what is the point of spinning the reels if you never claim a single reward!? 

Poker Rooms

We can tell you from experience that virtual poker games are quite abundant online, especially if you join the right online casino.

Although virtual poker is a one-player game, it by no means detracts from the excitement of choosing a new poker variant to try out, like Hold’em Poker, Omaha Poker, Three Card Poker, and the hundreds of video poker games available.

At NZ online casinos, you’ll find:

  • Video poker
  • Live dealer poker
  • Poker tournaments

In order to give you a better idea of what is available online we’ve visited one of our favourite casinos, Royal Panda, and we’ve taken stock of the poker online games they offer. 

Live dealer tables

An innovative aspect of online casinos is the live dealer tables

The inclusion of such games enables players to participate in an authentic casino experience, where they have the opportunity to come in contact with other players and the casino dealer, from the comforts of their own home. 

With games such as blackjack, roulette, and baccarat.

Game providers available

While the game collections need to offer quite a diverse choice, we expect the best online casino to have partnered with the top game providers. 

Names like Microgaming and NetEnt are a welcome sight, as these two giants have earned a strong reputation in the European market. 

Exclusive games and branded tables

Finally, some online casinos offer games that others don’t. 

These are usually the product of special deals between the game provider and the casino to bring to their players a range of exclusive games they can only play with their platform. 

Given that this might determine the kind of players to visit the casino, in our casino online reviews, we always check if such an offering is available to direct interested parties to the right platform. 

online casino reviews NZ

4. We check and review their payment methods

If your intention is to deposit real money, then you want to find a casino that has partnered with the most popular payment options.

The speed by which deposits and withdrawals are processed would depend on the payment method of your choice. 

If you are looking for speedy transactions without compromising security, then an e-wallet is the best option.

On the other hand, if you prefer to carry out all financial transactions by card, you might discover that deposits tend to take a few minutes, while withdrawals will take between 3 to 5 days. 

5. We figure out what their overall casino RTP is

If we play at an online casino for real money means we expect to see some kind of return. 

That is why we should always choose a casino with a high payout percentage, which is usually established by auditing companies like eCogra.

Reputable auditing companies will always base their results on payouts issued by the casino, thus the higher the percentage the better. 

A casino payout percentage might be influenced by the RTP (return to player) percentage of its games as well as by its reward scheme and bonuses. 

Games with a high RTP mean more frequent payouts, so the more high RTP games in a casino’s collection, the higher its overall payout percentage will be.

6. We make sure they offer good customer support

Since everything is done online these days, with no human interaction or interference, many might express concern about joining an online casino. 

What happens, when you run into a problem? Who do you call? And how do you sort it out? 

The most common mode of communication is the in-site live chat, where players can chat with a representative and receive an immediate response. 

A phone is also a common option, although this tends to come with restricted times of operation. 

The last option would be an email, where customers can expect a response within 24 to 48 hours. Including an FAQ section is also common practice, and online casinos try to cover the most common issues to provide their customers with a quick solution. 

We check Availability

The best casinos also invest in live chat services that are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, to assist customers.

We test the Speed

We test everything.

That’s why we’re evaluating the speed with which their customer service representatives must respond, answer, and assist.

We look for a variety of channels

With this in mind, the best online casinos provide 24-hour customer service via at least three different channels.

From live chat, phone, and email. 

We find out if they actually help

We strive for objectivity at all times, and with that in mind, we consider everything the user might come across.

After checking the previously mentioned elements, we make sure to test if customer support is actually helping.

And, of course, we’ll inform you of our findings.

7. We test their mobile optimization

We can safely refrain from answering this question, as in today’s society the answer is obvious. 

That is why all of the best casinos for Kiwi players are easily accessible from either your web browser via a mobile-friendly site or else through a mobile casino app. 

Both options allow players to log into their accounts, deposit, claim bonuses, participate in promotions, contact the customer support team, and even request withdrawals. 

Not to mention the hundreds of casino games that are accessible from small-screened devices without any compromises in terms of graphics, sounds and features. 

8. We learn about their Responsible Gambling program

As part of our online casino reviews, we always take a look at the Responsible Gambling program, which is a must-have for any regulated online casino. 

Purposefully, put together to protect vulnerable and underage players, the program offers a range of responsible gambling tools like questionnaires for self-assessment, session limits, and self-exclusion. 

Types of casinos we review in New Zealand

‘Classic’ online casinos

The classic casino is a bit of a jack-of-all-trades platform, that offers a variety of casino games to cater for every kind of player. 

This is the most common type of casino available online with brands like Royal Panda one of the major classic online casinos accessible for Kiwi players.

Purely live casinos

This type of casino focuses mostly on providing players with a vast selection of Live Casino tables. 

In most cases, they would have partnered up with more than one game provider and will have a diversified range of tables with different betting limits, games and variants and even VIP tables. 

live casino games with the best RTP

Crypto casinos

Cryptocurrencies have become quite popular over the last few years and online casinos have responded in kind with some platforms offering cryptocurrencies as their main payment options.

In most cases, these consist of Bitcoin, Lithium and Ethereum. 

In terms of games, they would offer a diversified choice spanning all categories and it is the payment methods that distinguish it from any other platform. 

Bitcoin casinos

And since Bitcoin is the most popular of cryptocurrencies, there are some casinos that specialize solely in Bitcoin payments. 

Many are those players who are turning to Bitcoin for their gambling transactions as this virtual currency offers increased security and anonymity, with low fees and speedy transactions. 

Mobile/APP casinos

In today’s technological age, some operators are coming up with platforms purposefully build solely for mobile devices. 

These would consist of a mobile app compatible with most devices, from which players can conduct all their gambling activities on the go at any time. 

This could also mean that the platform does not have a desktop version and is only accessible from a smartphone or tablet. 

The Best Online Casinos in NZ are Waiting for You!

We believe that all of the above factors taken together serve to make up a great online casino. 

Taking into consideration every single aspect, Kiwi players can now analyze and choose the best online casino NZ for them. 

Our online casino reviews will also help you analyze each casino from all angles to help you find the best ones. Our aim is to bring to the attention of our readers only the best online casinos in NZ, those that can offer the best bonuses, games and payouts!

Frequently asked questions

New casinos in New Zealand offer the best online casino games and plenty of lucrative promotions, all wrapped up in a modern and easy to navigate platform. They also offer a safe place to place bets from the comfort of your own home or from anywhere you might be. Their use of a mobile-friendly site means they can suit your lifestyle better.
The best casino bonuses are those that allow you to generate a good amount of winnings without losing them in the process of wagering. At nzcasinos, we recommend going for bonuses with low wagering requirements or no wagering at all, to increase your chances of making a profit from the bonus.
For the best mobile casinos in New Zealand, we suggest you read our casino reviews. Some of the top names in the industry are Mr. Green Casino, Voodoo Dreams and Ruby Fortune Casino.